Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Growing for Market (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=139)
-   -   sales stand design (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=40623)

berryman April 10, 2016 11:06 PM

sales stand design

I am retiring this year and finally going to start selling produce from my little farm. Yaay! I live several hours away from any decent size city and so it really isn't practical for me to travel to farmers markets so I plan on having a stand at my place which I will build from scratch.
I'm a former contractor so I can build just about anything but I have some questions that more experienced sellers might help me with.

I have great curb appeal from the street but I do not want to sit there all day like I have nothing else to do....I am worried about people stopping by with dogs and or kids and pawing through stuff in the short time it takes me to get there from the back acre. I'll be selling greens, vegetables, tomatoes, blackberries, raspberries, rhubarb, asparagus and lots of tree fruits. I've got all that stuff going now as I've spent the last 20 years getting my place in great shape.

So, I don't know what to do for design. Open or closed? Refrigeration I guess. Leave stuff out on counters or keep it put away?
If anyone here has done this kind of permanent stand but not with a person there watching all the time, I would like to get some advice. There are probably some important things I am not even thinking about.
Anyway, thanks for reading.

Worth1 April 10, 2016 11:20 PM

Alright Central Utah.
Demographics.
I have never met someone from your state I didn't like.
They may not have thought the way I do or believed the way I do but they were good people and honest as the day was long.
This means a lot because not only-here at Tomatoville but at work this has been true.
I wish I could say the same for Texas but I cant.