Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Starting From Seed (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=82)
-   -   My First Attempt with Seeds on Paper? (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=46037)

murihikukid September 26, 2017 07:27 PM

My First Attempt with Seeds on Paper?

1 Attachment(s)
Hi...My Eyes are not good so I am hoping I am not seeing things...This is my first attempt at germination using a damp paper towel in a loctite bag....Its now 2 1/2 days since I put 4 seeds in a paper towel and I have been checking daily for any signs of growth....

Now I think I see a small white tail coming from each seed and I am hoping my photograph will show this........

Am I right and is it at this point one carefully moves each seed into my Sphagnum /Perlite/Vermiculite mix cells ........and do I add a few grains of lime??? with my mix?

Any comment and advice will be gratefully appreciated...Thanks Ron

zeuspaul September 26, 2017 07:37 PM

Move it now. If you wait the sprout becomes longer and more delicate.

greenthumbomaha September 26, 2017 08:36 PM

Hi Ron, you are doing everything fine. If you don't think you can dislodge the seed with the radicle attached, you can tear a small piece of the paper napkin with the seed attached and plant them both together.

I've never needed to add lime but my water is alkaline. At this stage, the simpler the better. You won't need to feed for about two weeks. I do add mykos as soon as I think of it though.

I'm sure others will have more tips. - Lisa

murihikukid September 26, 2017 11:43 PM

3 Attachment(s)
Thankyou..I really like this method ...at least I am not watching my cell tray all the time for signs of a plant poking through.....