Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Potatoes (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=89)
-   -   Hilling sweet potatoes with straw? (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=28547)

Rugerfan777 June 9, 2013 01:24 PM

Hilling sweet potatoes with straw?

I am new to this forum. I was wondering if anyone has experience in growing sweet potatoes. Can you grow them in a straw bed and the hill them up like reg potatoes? I know some people grow them in straw bales but I wanted to try another approach for possibly better results. I was thinking of trying this.

6 inch straw matt with 3 to 4 inch soil on top w some manure. Then hill them up as the grow with more straw. I figure the straw will be easier to grow in than dirt.

Redbaron June 10, 2013 09:42 AM

I am no expert on sweet potatoes, but I have grown them in the past. Seems to me that sweet potatoes grow entirely differently. They vine on top of the ground and the vines root themselves as they grow. Where the vines root themselves is where you'll find the sweet potatoes.

As for your idea? Try it. It might work. I never tried it myself, but would be interested in your results. Manure and straw in the soil is almost never a bad thing. I don't think "hilling" is needed though.

shelleybean June 10, 2013 11:44 AM

Sweet potatoes are entirely different from regular Irish potatoes. You don't hill them at all. Plant the slips just like you're planting any other vine and that's it. You can mulch them with straw if you want but they'll quickly fill in and cover the entire area with their own vines. The way they grow may remind you of ivy. I've grown both and sweet potatoes are much easier!

kath June 10, 2013 11:56 AM