Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Common Garden Diseases and Pests (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Black Spots on Leaves. Cannot identify. (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=47558)

sgladstein May 25, 2018 11:04 AM

Black Spots on Leaves. Cannot identify.

4 Attachment(s)
I noticed some black spots on the leaves of my Sungold today. It is affecting the older leaves on the plant. The plant otherwise looks healthy. I have been looking at images of disease and I am having trouble identifying the issue. It looks similar to bacterial spot or maybe tomato spotted wilt virus, but still pretty different from the images that I have seen. Can anyone help me identify this issue? Thanks!

Johnniemar May 25, 2018 03:11 PM

Looks like bacterial spot to me. But i am no expert. I would spray immediately with a liquid copper and follow up in a few days with daconil.

Gerardo May 25, 2018 04:32 PM

TSWV would show more spots, plus the plant would be stunted, with some weird leaf curl, along with purple-bronze.

Blow on flowers (any flowers) and wait a few seconds, thrips usually come out and investigate when a large mammal threatens to eat them.

As suggested above, give it some Cooper and see how it does.

ginger2778 May 25, 2018 06:23 PM

Bacterial spot, or Septoria. Like the others said liquid copper fungicide at 1/2 of the weakest recommended strength will do the trick with both bacteria and fungi.

bower May 25, 2018 06:24 PM

I wonder if it could be pest damage. The lighter spots look like thrips or other tiny pests feeding history to me.. the dark spots could be the oldest feeding areas that are necrotic after being sucked dry. One of your pics the dark parts look sunken as in tissue is collapsed and gone.

Mind you I am no expert in disease either, could be something I've never seen.

Spartanburg123 May 25, 2018 08:55 PM

3 Attachment(s)