Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   General Discussion (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=61)
-   -   Struggling with dwarf tomatoes (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=45216)

Fritz77 June 6, 2017 06:20 AM

Struggling with dwarf tomatoes

2 Attachment(s)
This is my first attempt to grow dwarf tomatoes. My seeds germinated easily and most of the plants look healthy and vigorous. Now, the problem is that my plants have been transplanted 3 weeks ago and don’t have any blossom yet. The 3 varieties I grow are: Uluru Ochre, Wherokowai (see pictures) and Wild Fred.
I’ve fed them and all my other plants with aged sheep manure and only once with Compo Fertilizer (9-5-13) which is a little high in Nitrogen but I guess not so high right?
So what's wrong with them? To be honest it looks like all my plants don’t have too many blossoms this season:bummer:.
Are dwarf tomatoes late bloomers or is it me failing miserably?:cry:

PhilaGardener June 6, 2017 06:29 AM

Don't know what your weather has been like, but we have had a cool spring in the Eastern US. They look good - maybe a bit heavily fertilized - I think they just need some summer warmth to take off and get blooming. I haven't found the dwarfs to be heavy fruit setters so don't expect huge trusses like some heirlooms. On the other hand, they grow up, not out, and never turn into monster plants so are easy to keep under control. Good luck!

Worth1 June 6, 2017 06:35 AM

Not even close to being ready to bloom and what ever you do dont pinch suckers.
The fertilizer is right on target from what I can see.
Just dont use any more for awhile.
Worth

Merediana June 6, 2017 06:38 AM