Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Tomatoville® Gardening Forums (http://www.tomatoville.com/index.php)
-   Starting From Seed (http://www.tomatoville.com/forumdisplay.php?f=82)
-   -   Seedling Vigor... (http://www.tomatoville.com/showthread.php?t=945)

jerseyjohn61 April 3, 2006 03:28 PM

Seedling Vigor...

This is my first year growing Red Brandywine
(Landis Valley selection), and am amazed at
at the seedling's vigor. With the exception of
Tom's Yellow Wonder,(a seed offering from
TomsTrees) it has out-distanced all other
varieties in height, sturdiness, total germination
and leaf appearence.

Is this the experience of others with this variety
and what are everyone else's quick starters
this year?....JJ61

clay199 April 3, 2006 03:38 PM

Russian Red is my quickest growing and sturdiest plant this year. It is a dwarf like thing at best full grown but is my 'best doer'. I want to try that Red Brandywine selection next year, interesting that it is a good starter.

Tomstrees April 3, 2006 03:44 PM

Funny you meantion that John -
I got my RBW from you and
have witnessed the same -
Its really right up there with that "yellow" ~

My least vigorous ?
Aunt Rubys, and NAR ~
For some reason, these guys
need a good "boot in the roots" ~

Tom

jerseyjohn61 April 3, 2006 03:46 PM

Clay,
If you have the room, I still have a few RB LV
to spare. Let me Know....JJ61

jerseyjohn61 April 3, 2006 03:51 PM

Yeah Tom,
The seeds are from TGS '06. I know I sent
some others out as well. Guess it must be
from one Kickin' batch....JJ61

travis April 3, 2006 04:06 PM

My least vigorous ?
Aunt Rubys, and NAR ~
For some reason, these guys
need a good "boot in the roots" ~
[Tom]

Same here, Tom ... add Mortgage Lifter, Burpee discount store display pack ... THE WORST! I'm past the "boot in the roots" point and fast approaching the "dump in the rump" finale for the last few ARGGs and NARs that haven't already met the masher.