Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating all other edible garden plants.

Old August 22, 2016   #1
AlittleSalt
BANNED FOR LIFE

Default Fall Planting Mustard Greens?

I want to plant a lot of mustard greens this fall to help combat a RKN invasion. I looked at this site https://bonnieplants.com/growing/gro...ustard-greens/ it says to plant transplants out 4-6 weeks before first frost.

I don't have the money to buy a lot of transplants, but I do have a lot of mustard green seeds. We have 4 packs of Florida Broad Leaf and 5 packs of Southern Giant Curled. I'm guessing I should start them 8 or more weeks before first frost. Our average first frost is around November 20. There are usually hard freezes in winter here, but who knows this year. Here it is August and we are going into the second week of high temps in the 80s - that's just unheard of around here. High temps are usually in the 100s in August.

I'm new to planting greens in a fall garden, so I'm asking for helpful knowledge from you all who may be more familiar with fall and/or overwinter planting.
AlittleSalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22, 2016   #2
Worth1
Tomatovillian™

Salt I was waiting for someone better than me to say when.
But I would say in October would be when you need to sow the seeds.
No need to buy sets as you said.

If you have never had the curly leaf greens they are to die for.
Very hot in a salad.

Worth
Worth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22, 2016   #3
4season
Tomatovillian™

When I had RKN in the carrot patch about 4 or 5 years back I used chicken litter, marigolds, and chitosan. One or all worked. At the New Mexico Organic Conference a couple years back I think tilling green mustard plants in was mentioned as a fumigation method.
4season is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 22, 2016   #4
AlittleSalt
BANNED FOR LIFE