Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old December 23, 2020   #1
Yak54
Tomatovillian™

Default Reuse of ProMix BX in grow bags

I'm wondering what the collective Tomatoville knowledge and experience is about using ProMix multiple times in grow bags for growing tomatoes & peppers. It seems that the first year I got little disease and very productive tomato plants and the second year reusing the same batch of ProMix I got more disease and less productivity. Fertilization and watering being very similar from year to year. Now I know there are many factors (like weather) that could cause this situation but I am relatively new to growing in grow bags and ProMix (5 yrs) and wonder what you guys and gals have learned about reusing ProMix from year to year. I should say that I soak the empty grow bags in a diluted bleach solution at the start of every growing season in an attempt to sterilize the grow bags before re-filling them with the ProMix

Dan

Last edited by Yak54; December 23, 2020 at 02:29 PM. Reason: more information
Yak54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 23, 2020   #2
Labradors2
Tomatovillian™

This spring, because of Covid, I didn't feel like going to the store to buy Promix. I had kept my pots, still full of Promix in the shed over the winter as I had read that people re-use their mix and add some nutrients. Thank goodness I had done that! I emptied them (individually) into a wheelbarrow so that I could add 1/4 of my own composted chicken manure to each pot.

I'm happy to say that all my compact tomatoes grew very well in last year's Pro-mix with added composted chicken manure . I would venture to say that they grew as well as they had the previous year when I grew them in new Pro-mix.

Linda
Labradors2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 24, 2020   #3
ScottinAtlanta
Tomatovillian™