Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old June 23, 2006   #1
westocast73
Tomatovillian™

Default Are My Tomatoes Doomed?

Ok this is my first year growing tomatoes. I don't know much about Virus/Diseases other than what I have read here and other sources but no first hand experience at all. After a small delay of sitting with my tomatoes hoping everytime I looked that the sunlight would have changed and the mysterious discolouration gone but it hasn't happened so time to ask the experts.

I believe it to be on all my tomatoes but this is the current worse leaf I can find. Almost all the tomatoes have a bit of leaf curl though and at least one leaf on ever plant appears to be starting to show the discolouration and it is always on older more mature leaves. Also the leaves aren't as curled in the AM ( at least this is what I noticed over the first 3 days I have noticed leaves curling ) Also this is the first day I have noticed the discolouration. Thanks for any information.

westocast73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 24, 2006   #2
peppereater
Tomatovillian™

I'm not an expert on disease, but I don't see anything that looks like disease on those leaves. I'm wondering, though, what those tiny white specks are. I'm thinking there may be a few mealybugs there, but it's hard to tell. Curling is fairly normal and may not mean anything, some discoloration, especially on older leaves, is common. Can you post pics of more leaves, some newer growth, too? Check the undersides of the leaves for mealybugs and spidermites.
Old June 24, 2006   #3
westocast73
Tomatovillian™