Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old June 16, 2015   #1
HydroExplorer
Tomatovillian™

Default Low sun varieties

I have a shademaster locust tree that in my back yard that gradually shaded out what was my main garden. I want to get rid of the tree but my wife won't allow that.

Anyway, I took a vacation day today and watched how the shadows formed and found that one small sliver of the garden (approx. 2') gets about 6 hours of direct sun. The rest of the garden gets no direct sun (I watched it from 7 AM till about 6 PM).

Does anyone know of a tomato variety that will do mediocre in indirect sun? I'm assuming it would be a cherry tomato. I have no experience with cherry tomatoes.
HydroExplorer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2015   #2
habitat_gardener
Tomatovillian™

What about the front yard?
Oh, and you're not using the driveway (for cars) this summer, right?
habitat_gardener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2015   #3
HydroExplorer
Tomatovillian™

We live in a residential area...

It took a long time before I could convince my wife to let me grow any garden plants in the front yard. Now I can do it but I have to be careful not to push it. Cosmetics are a big deal to her.

So basically, being able to grow in the back yard means I can grow more tomato plants. In soil I will max out around 5 plants in the front yard.
Old June 17, 2015   #4
daninpd
Tomatovillian™

You brought up a good question: "How many divorces have been brought about by tomato gardening?" I know many caused by sailboats/racing/sailing and other salty subjects. Not sure about gardening.
Old June 17, 2015   #5
zipcode
Tomatovillian™