Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old May 24, 2007   #1
Plaz
Tomatovillian™

Default I think I've messed up ...

I used a mixture of 40lbs each organic compost and potting soil, 8 qts each of perlite and sphagnum and about 2 cups of 5-6-5 fertilizer. It's my first time and from what I understand i used a bad formula. Is there anything i can add to make this any better? I'm using 2 GS self watering planters.

Plaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2007   #2
RDUN
Tomatovillian™

I'm only in my second year of growing in self-watering containers. I think I'm using the same ones you are:

Some others may be able to tell you more about your soil mix, but I've always read that with these you need to use a soilless potting mix, and that you don't want to use a potting soil. Hopefully others may be able to tell you if your material will be o.k. or if you can do anything with it to help it.

On mine I use Pro-Mix from Home Depot (I think it's peat, perlite, and vermiculite) I mix 1 cup of Tomato Tone and 1 cup of lime into the soil and top-dress with a strip of fertilizer (2 cups) on top of the mix (Under the plastic). It's basically the method suggested by the "Real" Earthbox people. I don't know if this is ideal but it seems to be working o.k.
RDUN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 24, 2007   #3
Plaz
Tomatovillian™

Nice looking plants there!, Yeah I'm using the same boxes as you. I'm wondering if I need to pull the plants and start over since I just planted them 4-5 days ago or just live with what I have and hope for the best?
Old May 24, 2007   #4
feldon30
Tomatovillian™

Potting soil is fine. Using nearly 50% compost on the other hand sounds like it will make the soil very "heavy" and not drain well.