Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old June 20, 2010   #1
ajd
Tomatovillian™

Default Need help figuring out what is wrong

Hi. I am relatively new to growing tomatoes. I live in Atlanta, GA. I am growing
San Marzano tomatoes and Goliath tomatoes. The leaves are turning yellow on the Goliath and the San Marzano have some kind of brown spots on them. Does anyone know what this is and how to correct it? The little leaf is the San Marzano and the larger one is the Goliath. Thx.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_4248 [Desktop Resolution].JPG (156.2 KB, 45 views)
ajd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20, 2010   #2
Dewayne mater
Tomatovillian™

Are they turning yellow on the bottom leaves and working there way upward? If so, these pictures could be Early Blight. It could fit some other issues as well, which is the reason for my question. If you aren't spraying for foliar diseases, get on it right away. If this is early blight, it will spread quickly up your plant is you don't address it. Daconil, actinovate and various teas all help.
Dewayne mater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 20, 2010   #3
ajd
Tomatovillian™

yes, exactly. the leaves are turning yellow from the bottom on upward. where can i get those sprays you are talking about and are they organic? thanks for your help.
Old June 20, 2010   #4
Dewayne mater
Tomatovillian™

Do a search for early blight and you'll see a ton of suggestions. I don't think daconil is considered organic, but a lot of folks use it and think as far as non organics go, it is low on the list of things to avoid. Actinovate is definitely organic (it is a naturally occurring bacteria). You may find it at very good gardening centers, seed and feed stores, and it can definitly be found on line, Amazon and lots of other places.