Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Discussion forum for environmentally-friendly alternatives to replace synthetic chemicals and fertilizers.

Old March 6, 2011   #1
RayR
Tomatovillian™

Default Alpha BioSystems Thrive

Alpha BioSystems has a new website for their Thrive product line.
They are also offering a free sample of your choice. Free is good!

I've never used a bacterial/myco innoculant before, but this season I've will be giving some a try, including Thrive. I first heard of Thrive when Howard Garrett started promoting it, then I saw there was a thread here at TV last year discussing Tomato Thrive. (with some confusion it seems)
RayR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6, 2011   #2
rnewste
Tomatovillian™

Ray,

Thanks for the link. Not much technical info available at their site to be able to compare / contrast vs. Biota Max or MycoGrow. Did order a (free) sample of their Tomato formula, so will have to do an A/B comparison in a couple of EarthTainers this year.

Raybo
rnewste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 6, 2011   #3
Stepheninky
Tomatovillian™

Same also ordered a free sample, so will try and compare its results as well.
I know from my micro brew setup that (at least in water, nutrient solution) bioata max is more biologically active then the myco grow soluble . Though my feeling is that the myco grow has more myco type fungus (that attaches to plant roots) and the bioata max has more tri type fungus and different bacteria so its really hard to use my micro brew as the test. Bioata max though does foam up about 10 x's higher than the Myco Grow product though.

I will mix up my sample (the Tomato one) and give it the same solution and see what it does.

Would love to see a list of whats in it to compare to the other products but as long as it is bio active then it should in theory be fine. The ideal is to give it an environment that it will multiply and if it does then it should do the same in healthy soil.
Old March 6, 2011   #4
RayR