Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating all other edible garden plants.

Old June 25, 2013   #1
dpurdy
Tomatovillian™

Default How to Tell When Turnips are Ready for Harvest?

This is my first time growing turnip. My wife talked me into growing some this year. I usually eat turnip a couple of times a year. I always like it, but normally most people eat it around the holidays. I've posted a picture of my turnips which are about softball sized right now. Do turnip get sweeter when they get larger or are they sweeter when they are harvested when they are smaller? Any insight to storing them would also be useful. Thanks for any input.
dpurdy
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1904.jpg (478.8 KB, 25 views)
dpurdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25, 2013   #2
RebelRidin
Tomatovillian™

Turnips (IME) are best when they grow quickly and the root matures in cool or at least not hot weather. I usually grow them in the fall. Turnips that grow too slowly, left too long or mature in the heat tend to be hot and or pithy.

Softball size is plenty big. Pull them, cut off the tops just above the root and clean off teh worst of the soil. Turnips store like other root crops (think root cellar). A cool location with good air circulation is best. They can store for several months.

George

"The tree of liberty must be refreshed from time to time with the blood of patriots and tyrants. It is it’s natural manure."
Thomas Jefferson, 1787

Last edited by RebelRidin; June 25, 2013 at 04:14 PM.
RebelRidin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25, 2013   #3
fischer1611
Tomatovillian™

Purple top turnips are best when they are about 2-3 inches across. I use them all the time for greens also.
You can cut, blanche and freeze them for soups etc.

I usually get two crops a year. One in spring and one in fall around frost. I am just pulling mine this week because of the weird weather we've had this year.