Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating peppers.

Old October 6, 2007   #1
Suze
Tomatovillian™

Default Trinidad Perfume vs. Trinidad Seasoning

I've grown Trinidad Perfume before, and am growing it again this year. First time with Trinidad Seasoning.

I'm not really seeing or tasting any discernible differences between these two. Are they the same variety?

Thanks.
Suze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7, 2007   #2
svalli
Tomatovillian™

I have grown both of them. Trinidad Perfume is yellow and has more pungent aroma than Trinidad Seasoning, which is red.

Trinidad Perfume

Trinidad Seasoning

Here is better look at the pods.
Top two from left are Trinidad Seasonings, lower left is Trinidad Perfume (other ones are Red Savina and Rocotillo)
svalli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7, 2007   #3
Earl
Tomatovillian™

I've been growing Trinidad Perfume for a few years now, and I like it, but I like Datil Sweet [red] even more as to me it has more aroma and stronger taste, but no heat. I also like Aji Dulce II [red] which has a smidgen of heat.
Old October 7, 2007   #4
Suze
Tomatovillian™

svalli, thanks for the further clarification on Trinidad Seasoning.

A couple of things going on for me. First, I dumped one of my pepper flats while they were hardening off and lost markers for about 5-8 plants. Adding to the confusion is that Trinidad Seasoning was an SSE request and the description I have for it is "small bushy plants to 18" tall, pendant, folded looking fruit w/fruity taste, hot, green>yellow, excellent container plant".

Also thanks to Earl for the other recommendations, I think the seasoning types are nice.
Old October 8, 2007   #5
johno
Tomatovillian™

I've been trying for three years to germinate Trinidad seasoning... So I'm going to buy some Trinidad Perfume this coming year and see if I have better luck.
johno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 17, 2007   #6
flipt
Tomatovillian™