Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old June 13, 2013   #1
tedln

Default What to plant?

I've harvested all my onions and garlic and have them drying in the shop. It has left me with a lot of bare dirt and my tomatoes and squash look lonely in their raised beds. I can't figure out what I can plant in the summer heat and expect it to grow and produce. I thought about planting some carrots, but my success growing carrots in the past has been dismal. Any suggestions?

Ted
Old June 13, 2013   #2
KarenO
Tomatovillian™

How about some cucumbers and melons? If you have the space, sweet corn likes heat. I am No expert on the Texas climate but those are my suggestions.
Karen O
KarenO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 13, 2013   #3
Rockporter
Tomatovillian™

Pumpkin? I think I remember someone telling me they like the heat.

~Margaret Atwood~

Rockporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 14, 2013   #4
tedln

Quote:
Originally Posted by KarenO View Post
How about some cucumbers and melons? If you have the space, sweet corn likes heat. I am No expert on the Texas climate but those are my suggestions.
Karen O
Karen,

Thanks! I am growing cucumbers in two beds and some containers. I've grown some melons on trellis in the past with decent results. I think I am looking for some type of green like kale or spinach that will germinate in the heat. Most leafy greens are now bolting or dieing in the heat. I don't know if any leafy green exists that will germinate and grow in high heat.

I also have peppers and eggplant doing well in the heat as well as a few other things I can't think of at this moment. I just pulled all my beets and the wife and I spent yesterday learning how to prepare a few pint jars of pickled beets. They turned out great.

Ted
Old June 14, 2013   #5
FarmerShawn
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by tedln View Post
Karen,