Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating herbs.

Old April 10, 2012   #1
TightenUp
Tomatovillian™

Default basil parsley and cilantro help

this is my first year starting them from seed. i started them just after my tomatoes expecting them to grow at similar pace and be about the same size.

i was way off in that prediction. my tomatoes are 12 inches tall and all these little herbs i have are maybe 2 inches tall.

should i be feeding them anything at this point? i gave them a very light dose of bat guano 10-3-1 but that hasnt done much.

they are still in the starting trays in jiffy starting mix. i tried to pull a basil out to put in my garden and it definitely wasnt ready to be removed.

also my cilantro has gotten leggy and fallen over/blown over.

everything is being kept outdoors in 50-60 degree weather and indoors at night and windy and rainy conditions
TightenUp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10, 2012   #2
FILMNET
Tomatovillian™

Bring the herbs inside they don't like the cold at all, the basil will come up and then slow down
my cilantro has gotten leggy and fallen over/blown over
Yes is will fall which wind and rain it will grow for only 45 days if it is hot, you should grow more seed ever 3 weeks if you want cilantro all summer
I love Basil, i have 5 diffident pots 2 years ago i put pots in the garden beside Tomato plants. I dd not move them all summer. They grow great and grow out of the pots in the bottom
FILMNET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 10, 2012   #3
RebelRidin
Tomatovillian™

Hi Jeff,

Just a few thoughts from my admittedly limited experience. I first started growing herbs in ernest only about 8 years ago.