Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old June 25, 2022   #1
dshreter
Tomatovillian™

Default Favorite Determinate Tomatoes

I have a ton of experience and favorite indeterminate tomatoes. But I have very little knowledge of the best determinate tomatoes to grow.

What are your favorites? And are there any worth growing for flavor for non-sauce applications that rival the indeterminate beefsteaks?
dshreter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27, 2022   #2
habitat_gardener
Tomatovillian™

I have a bed of determinate and a bed of dwarf tomatoes this year, but I planted late and haven't harvested anything yet. Last year, my favorite determinate was Early Wonder Pink. I also liked (dwarf) Coastal Pride Orange, but it didn't produce a lot. I've repeated both this year.
habitat_gardener is online now   Reply With Quote
Old June 27, 2022   #3
Shrinkrap
Tomatovillian™

I do not grow determinate, but I also feel you. Might want to check out some of the Dwarf Tomato Project. They are mostly indeterminates, but they stay about 4 feet tall while continuing to gear fruit like their indeterminate parents.

Here's a link.

https://www.dwarftomatoproject.net/

It's the plant, and not the tomatoes that are small.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg tempFileForShare_20220603-105826.jpg (76.9 KB, 83 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20200716_234704.jpg (76.9 KB, 83 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_20190804_135158.jpg (111.7 KB, 83 views)

Last edited by Shrinkrap; June 27, 2022 at 08:48 PM.
Shrinkrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27, 2022   #4
MrsJustice
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by dshreter View Post
I have a ton of experience and favorite indeterminate tomatoes. But I have very little knowledge of the best determinate tomatoes to grow.

What are your favorites? And are there any worth growing for flavor for non-sauce applications that rival the indeterminate beefsteaks?
Hello, dshreter