Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old July 8, 2013   #1
cbird02
Tomatovillian™

Default Sewage smell in earthtainer

I have a custom earthtainer (5ft round horse trough) that uses an adjustable pipe to maintain the water level. I keep it below the aeration table to allow for proper root aeration. Unfortunately my wife took over watering duties and I did not properly inform her that you could not raise the pipe adjustment to far or you will saturate the soil and have no aeration. This unfortunate situation equates to a bad case of anaerobic bacteria - sewage smelling soil.

I am wondering if it will be enough to lower the water level and allow aeration of the bed while still allowing the plants to suck out of the reservoir. Are more drastic measures called for? Nothing is doing to well, but it is my first year and I do not know if I should attribute it to this situation or our dramatic heat we have been having here in the Tucson desert.

I have drained the water and let the bed drain and then washed out that, now I am hoping it will be ok - the smell isn't so bad at the fill tube now.
cbird02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8, 2013   #2
Rockporter
Tomatovillian™

Welcome to TV, I use earth boxes and some handmade SWP's as well. I have never had this problem with the water getting anerobic but I would think if you have emptied the reservoir and maybe do a little top watering avoiding the fert strip if you have one it might help wash some of that out. I would also allow less water to sit in the bottom if it is possible to allow more aeration. I hope this helps, just my thoughts on the situation.

~Margaret Atwood~

Rockporter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 8, 2013   #3
Dewayne mater
Tomatovillian™