Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Have a great invention to help with gardening? Are you the self-reliant type that prefers Building It Yourself vs. buying it? Share and discuss your ideas and projects with other members.

Old November 20, 2013   #1
ScottinAtlanta
Tomatovillian™

Default 275 gallon water barrel

Folks, I wanted to give you a link to what we are using here in Atlanta for water storage, rather than small rain barrels. I have a linked system of these that adds up to over 600 gallons of rain water.

These originally were used for soap, but the ones I use were used for food grade vinegar that is used to clean poultry houses, so anywhere you have a poultry industry, you should be able to find these.

https://atlanta.craigslist.org/nat/grd/4198733043.html
ScottinAtlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20, 2013   #2
ContainerTed
Tomatovillian™

I've been using them for 3 years now, and they work great. After putting a piece of screen over the main fill hole, I used PVC and routed the output of my gutters to one of them and then tied two together with some PVC and drain adapters down at the outputs. The one input fills both up when the rain comes. I put a standard hose fitting (male) and just syphon water down to my garden when needed.

These types of containers can be found in sizes from ~275 gallons up to ~330 gallons. Clean them out each spring with some bleach and put a bit of antifungal in the stored water a couple of time each season.

You can also add in some liquid fertilizer if you're careful not to use too much on your plants.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 25May2012q.JPG (415.8 KB, 219 views)
File Type: jpg 25May2012r.JPG (315.3 KB, 197 views)
The Muddy Bucket Farm
and Tomato Ranch

ContainerTed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 20, 2013   #3
ScottinAtlanta
Tomatovillian™