Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating peppers.

Old March 7, 2013   #1
socalgardengal
Tomatovillian™

Default Why plant pepper plants close together(groups)??

This is my first time growing peppers and I have read in a few posts about people planting peppers in groups. Why is this done and is it done by varieties or does it matter? Thanks for the info.
socalgardengal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7, 2013   #2
Fred Hempel
Tomatovillian™

We plant peppers close together so they can support each other. I think it is also done because they often don't get very big.
Fred Hempel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7, 2013   #3
Redbaron
Tomatovillian™

That is correct Fred. For support but also peppers are a plant that likes its roots in shade its fruit in high humidity and its tops in sun...So it likes the microclimate of crowded conditions as long as they don't shade them out. That's why I prefer low growing companions there too. With peppers it's all about the micro climate around each plant.

AKA The Redbaron

"Permaculture is a philosophy of working with, rather than against nature; of protracted & thoughtful observation rather than protracted & thoughtless labour; & of looking at plants & animals in all their functions, rather than treating any area as a single-product system."
Bill Mollison
co-founder of permaculture
Redbaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 7, 2013   #4
socalgardengal
Tomatovillian™

Interesting! So it's ok to plant sweet and hot peppers next to each other?? And how close to each other should they be? Thanks
Old March 7, 2013   #5
Redbaron
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by socalgardengal View Post
Interesting! So it's ok to plant sweet and hot peppers next to each other?? And how close to each other should they be? Thanks