Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old June 17, 2012   #1
myfirstgarden
Tomatovillian™

Default Strawberry brown leaves dried up Fruit

I have a strawberry plant in about a 6 inch wide 18 inch long container. It takes up about 1/3 of the container. Recently the leaves have been browning from the edges inward. The fruit is small and looks dried. It was producing healthy nice fruit until I put bone meal on it. I am thinking I put to much (potassium overdose). Does this look like potassium burn? If so, what should I do? If not, what is happening to my poor plant? I will continue researching. Any information will be very much appreciated.
Thanks, Emily

myfirstgarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2012   #2
PonyMan
Tomatovillian™

I'm no expert but if it was doing fine before you added bone meal, my guess would be that's the culprit!
PonyMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2012   #3
RayR
Tomatovillian™

Strawberry plants baffle me, they are so sensitive to many things. Older leaves die off for seemingly no reason, but maybe that is normal. I know there are a lot of diseases that affect them and they do like consistently moist but well drained slightly acidic soil. NPK requirements are similar to Tomatoes, and secondary and micro nutrients are essential, they are particularly sensitive to Boron deficiency but if the soil has plenty of organic matter that's usually not a problem.
What kind of soil are you using and what kind of fertilizers?
RayR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2012   #4
myfirstgarden
Tomatovillian™

The soil is a half soil/half manure mix. I did not fertilize it until I gave it the bone meal (about 2 tablespoons over two doses). I must look into fertilizers because all of my plants are in containers and will be needing it. Do you, anyone, have suggestions?