Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating fruit-bearing plants, trees, flowers and ornamental plants.

Old June 17, 2014   #1
drew51
Tomatovillian™

Default Pineberry and musk strawberries

I have been growing these for two years now. The flavor of both is exceptional. Pineberries have a tart-sweet flavor, sort of like pineapple, hence the name, but not really. It is a unique flavor. I have found that White D is the best cultivar. Growing large and prolific producer of white berries. It is difficult to tell when these white strawberries are ripe. Seeds are mostly red, and a slight tinge of red on the surface. These berries here, are ripe.

Musk Strawberries taste like alpine, except the flavor is more intense. Also have a creamy texture. You need two cultivars, or a male plant to produce. Not a large producer. But the berries are super unique. They have an almost red metallic look.

Both are soft berries. I freeze damaged berries for jam, or cooking. It's easy to damage them. Over ripe berries still taste pretty good. Birds and snails love the pineberries. I have had to net them.

I grow June, everybearing, musk, pineberry, red and white alpines. Here today's harvest.
drew51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2014   #2
Pappi
Tomatovillian™

Those certainly look mighty tasty, especially the musk. Do you have a seed source or do you buy plants? I haven't grown alpines or anything special for years. But definitely want to get into them again next year.

Pappi
Pappi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 17, 2014   #3
drew51
Tomatovillian™

I tried growing from seed, alpines, with little luck. Pineberries are hybrids. So you need plants. Burpee'a sells White D. Perennial Feast also sells White D, but they are out till next spring, maybe fall? Many places sell Musk. I bought them at Raintree and The Strawberry Store. The strawberry store has some of their own Musk hybrids, which i purchased.