Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Discussion forum for the various methods and structures used for getting an early start on your growing season, extending it for several weeks or even year 'round.

Old January 26, 2015   #1
Mark0820
Tomatovillian™

Default Row Covers for insect / pest control

I've never used row covers before, but I am considering giving them a try this year to grow squash. Three pests (squash vine borer, squash bugs and cucumber beetles) make it very difficult for me to grow a variety other than butternut squash.

I'm curious as to what type of row cover other people use. I found this product doing a Google search http://www.greenhousemegastore.com/p...tection-fabric.

From what I have read, there seems to be two approaches to using a row cover for squash:

1. Leave the row cover on until both male and female blossoms appear, and then remove the row cover so bees can pollinate the blossoms.

2. Leave the row cover on as long as possible, and hand pollinate the blossoms.

I am interested in the experiences of people who use or know about row covers so I have a better idea as to the best product to use and the best approach when using a row cover.
Mark0820 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1, 2015   #2
bower
Tomatovillian™

Mark,
Row cover is a great protection against insects. I've seen it used with great success for several crops - carrots (to prevent rust fly) and brassicas (against cabbage moths). The previous crop rotation is key to success for those crops, because the pests can overwinter, and then when you take the cover off, they were already there!. We don't use row cover against the squash pests you mentioned because they are not a problem here. But we use row cover for warmth to get the squash started, then uncover when they begin to bloom. I suspect that the same issues apply to squash in rotation though, so step one is, choose a bed that was in a different crop the previous season and should contain no leftover pests.