Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old March 20, 2022   #1
hornstrider
Tomatovillian™

Default Help...what is eating my tomato plants (whole plant)

I have been growing tomatoes for over 20 years. I plant my tomato plants the same way every year. I always put a plastic barrier around the the tomato cage to protect from the wind, and also from rabbits (please see video)....I have never lost a plant (8 week old seedlings) using this method for 20 years. Last thurs night I planted 12 plants, and did not put a cage around them because I ran out of time. The next day 6 plants just dissappeared. No trace of anything. Last night I put plactic around the remaining 6 plants, and this morning some critter climed ito my cage, and ate three more. We do have a problem with rabbits (they are everywhere), but in 29 years thay have never eaten a protected plant. Could a rat eat an entire plant? We have never had squirels before, but my neighbor said he trapped one not too long ago. So I guess we may have squirels, but I have never seen one. What ever is eating the plant consumes the entile plant. We do not have deer. Thank you
https://vimeo.com/690281754

Last edited by hornstrider; March 20, 2022 at 04:22 PM.
hornstrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20, 2022   #2
Koala Doug
Tomatovillian™

The only way to know what is snacking on your plants is to observe the offender with your own eyes - a camera with a motion-detection feature would be the idea way. Other than that, everything else is an unfounded guess on our part (and likely not helpful to you).