Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

A garden is only as good as the ground that it's planted in. Discussion forum for the many ways to improve the soil where we plant our gardens.

Old January 10, 2012   #1
Tania
Tomatovillian™

Default Straw or hay for mulching

I am thinking about using straw or hay for mulch, but as I've never done it before, I am not sure how much I need.

I a local feed store they sell 60 lb straw bales ($13) and 92 lb alfalfa hay ($23.50). I have not shopped for better prices yet...

Do you know how many sq. feet 1 bale would cover?

Any other advice re this type of mulch is also much appreciated.

Thank you so much for your help!

Tatiana's TOMATObase
Tania is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10, 2012   #2
dipchip2000
Tomatovillian™

Tanis

Last year I used 4 bales of straw to cover and mulch a 30X40 tomato bed about 4inches deep. It worked great and almost eliminated all weeds and grasses from the bed. I am going to use it this year in my new raised beds and probably make it a little deeper, maybe 6in deep. Hope this helps

ron

ps
straw bales here in okla are $5.25 a bale
dipchip2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 10, 2012   #3
TomNJ
Tomatovillian™

I have been using a spoiled feed hay mulch for many many years. Around here a long bale of spoiled hay is only $5. Spoiled hay (exposed to water and not suitable for feed) can be moldy, so a breathing mask is recommended when spreading.

Many people prefer straw to hay since it is less likely to contain viable seed, but I have never had a sprouting problem with spoiled hay. This year I got some straw for free from a local farmer (in return for buying and planting his garlic) and it works very well. One advantage for hay is it is higher in nitrogen and will break down faster when turned in at the end of the season without taking nitrogen from the soil. Of course a little nitrogen fertilizer neutralizes this advantage.