Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating peppers.

Old June 26, 2006   #1
angelique
Tomatovillian™

Default Hornworms and Peppers

Hi All,

Is it normal to find hornworms on peppers? I found one on my Fish plant. The pictures that are online don't do it's size justice...They are a lot bigger than I had anticipated. I pulled it off with the intention of relocating it. I got so freaked out by it's ability to wiggle, that I tossed it up in the air. I am pretty sure that it landed in my neighbor's grapes that fall over my fence.

I also found one on my Aunt Ruby's Green Cherry. Nobody told me that they have green blood. I really wasn't emotionally prepared for that. This sucker got chopped in half with some shears.

Don't think this too strange. But in a bizzare way I am flattered that the hornworms like my garden enough make their way here. I have been growing tomatoes for about 3 years and today was the first time I have seen a hornworm. I think that it's ironic that my first hornworm sighting was on a pepper.

Anyhow, again, is it normal to have hornworms on peppers?

Thanks for your help.

Cheers,

Angelique
angelique is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 26, 2006   #2
Gimme3
Tomatovillian™

Angelique, i know it probly dont make one feel happy, initially...but be Happy, for the fact that growin stuff is gettin your Eyes trained...an mind attuned...in other words, if i had never seen a Hornworm, i'd be glad to finally see one...)))

There is fine poster, we may get to hear from , one day, here...that actually desires people to not kill their hornworms, but send them to his/her address, because they are an expert on the many sub-species and truly can offer us great insight as to the Beauty of the moth it finally grows into being.

As far as yo question goes...if you got a hornworm on yo Fish pepper....God Help him/her...))) Either yo tomatos are dead, or thats one Mighty Hungry hornworm...)))