Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Forum area for discussing hybridizing tomatoes in technical terms and information pertinent to trait/variety specific long-term (1+ years) growout projects.

Old August 6, 2016   #1
cassiani
Tomatovillian™

Default F2 season review

When I saved last year's seeds for the first time I had no clue what was an F2. (I've been growing tomatoes for 20 years.)

I puted my seeds to germinate on march 1st, with intention to bring them out around may 5th then put in garden a week later. I Bought the lights, jiffy pellets and everything... invested around 500$ and a lot of time.
Then I learned about F1, F2.. I red on genetic, learned, but still decided to run my own experience and continue investing time.
Here is a few pics at week 7.
Photo du 16-04-19 à 17.15.jpg

Photo du 16-04-20 à 16.56.jpg

Photo du 16-04-20 à 16.58.jpg

I sarted with 32 of the ''fantastic'' strain, gave a few, killed one with overdose of MG, and discarded the rest. I kept 9 of them. Everything grew pretty consitant until I've put them in ground: they where almost the same height, same size and number of cluster. Deep green healty folliage with strong stem.
Once in ground only 2 of them continued growing. The rest of them are still on august 6th less than 2 feet tall. Fruits are small, some tasteless and unconsistant. On one same plant I have a roma type fruit, a round one and a pointy end one.

Most important: F2s are diseases magnet. They where the first to show early blight, first to introduce septoria and also first ever to introduce bacterial canker. Despite aggressive prunning and bleach spray, I had to remove 2 and all of the are badly sick.