Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating peppers.

Old April 10, 2009   #1
Barbee
Tomatovillian™

Default Sick Jal's?

Noticed these leaves right before shutting the lights down last night. I immediately put the 2 peppers in sick bay so I could take pics this morning. These spots were on the older lower leaves. This is the underside of the leaf

This is the top of the leaf. Notice how it's pitted looking.

Full size shot of the plants. I can't say for sure they were like this a couple of days ago, but if so, I didn't notice anything. I did just repot them 2 days ago into these bigger cups.

So help me figure out if I should treat these with something or trash them. I have no experience with growing hot peppers, so any advice would be appreciated.
Old April 10, 2009   #2
Barbee
Tomatovillian™

Thanks so much for the quick response!

Answering your questions, no I have not fertilized. I mix a potting mix with fertilizer already in it half and half with my seed starter mix when I pot up. These are very big so they probably do need an extra boost.

I got in there and really looked hard at the new growth. I do not see any sort of insect damage but I did see what appears to be a faint patch of the same thing going on with the new leaves. It was sort of a dried up area in the middle of the veins.

I have to head up to the store today anyway, so I will pick up some type of fertilizer to try. I have a tomato fertilizer here and some osmocote. I'll check those labels but may just go ahead and pick something up specifically for veggies that can be used in a watering can. I think I'll keep these guys isolated for a few days and treat all the Jal's and see what happens. If you have a specific fertilizer you like, feel free to share
Old April 11, 2009   #3
veggie babe
Tomatovillian™