Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Forum area for discussing hybridizing tomatoes in technical terms and information pertinent to trait/variety specific long-term (1+ years) growout projects.

Old May 4, 2019   #1
xellos99
Tomatovillian™

Default Afew questions about breeding

Sorry if this is in the wrong part of the forum, I was not sure where to ask.

I am a total beginner and not looked far into this as of yet but I have a few questions if anyone wants to reply.

Lets say you have a small number of an old OP variety and you want to selectively breed them or improve them so that the seeds you have in following generations are better or more suited to your location.

How would you go about this ?

Pick the best two plants of them all and breed them together and grow out the seeds and continue to do the same each year.

Pick the best plant and self pollinate it and grow the seeds out and keep doing that instead.

Or is there another option or possibly no improvement can be made on a small scale with only 15 - 20 plants to work with each year.
xellos99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2019   #2
bower
Tomatovillian™

What you're talking about is not a breeding project but it is a selection project. We had a really interesting thread in General Discussion forum last year iirc, about this exactly... if large numbers of plants are grown you can indeed select for better stock.
If you only have a few seeds, I would grow them out first, and save seeds from every plant. Bulk them together for a bigger growout so that you can select with maximum variation, would be the usual approach.. For a home gardener though, you might want to save seeds separately from any plant that is outstanding in the bunch, and then focus on those if you can only manage a smaller growout of 20 plants or so.
bower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2019   #3
ContainerTed
Tomatovillian™