Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Share your favorite photos with us here. Instructions on how to post them can be found in the first post within.

Old January 5, 2016   #1
jhp
Tomatovillian™

Default 2016 Garden Photos

We're only 5 days into 2016 and I'm months away from digging in the dirt. I wanted to start this thread so I have a place to put my garden photos as they happen.

Technically, these are from the 2015 garden, but were just harvested yesterday. This is my first time harvesting into January. 2015 was my best carrot year ever! We eat a lot of carrots all year round, so I planted more this past summer. These will not go to waste.

I've finally figured out the best way to grow carrots in my garden. I have raised beds. I grow 25 to 50 tomato plants per year in raised beds(sometimes maybe more if you count containers and earth boxes). I use soaker hoses to water my tomato plants. So I put carrot seeds along the soaker hoses on the outer edges of the tomato plants. Tried to sow thinly, and watered in, but did not bother to thin or do anything else the rest of the season.

Happy New Year!
Jen

Is that eatable?

Last edited by jhp; January 5, 2016 at 09:56 AM.
jhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5, 2016   #2
KarenO
Tomatovillian™

That is awesome and looks like your kitty thinks so too
KarenO
KarenO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5, 2016   #3
Worth1
Tomatovillian™

I want another kitten.

Worth
Worth1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5, 2016   #4
BigVanVader
Tomatovillian™

Very nice pics and what a cute kitten!
BigVanVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 5, 2016   #5
jhp
Tomatovillian™

Oh thank you! The kitten is Jasper. I adopted him from the local shelter. He's about 3.5 months old now (we don't really know his birthday). He is the center of our universe right now. He's into everything and has all of that kitten energy.