Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating all other edible garden plants.

Old March 14, 2014   #1
RootLoops
Tomatovillian™

Default RootLoops Mushroom Grain Spawn Prep

I finally got into my old laptop and got the pics of my grain prep method. There are lots of ways to prep grain for mushroom spawn but this is how i've been doing it for the last four years with no problems.

This thread will be a work in progress as i find more pics, and will tie in to the rest of the process of growing mushrooms i'll be posting as the stuff i ordered comes in. growing mushrooms is a pretty long process, so this thread may take a while to complete.

Growing mushrooms relies on several processes, the first of which i don't yet have the gear to post. soon i will get some cultures and some agar to start them on, but for now i'll post what i already have pics of. this is written assuming you know how to make jar lids and inoculate grains with clean cultures so don't hesitate to ask about any of that, i just don't have pics of those parts yet.

Process One: Grain Prep

Most people will use a "soak and simmer" method to prep birdseed or other grains. Soak and simmer requires you to soak the grains overnight, skim off all the floaters and rinse repeatedly to clean the grain. That is followed by simmering the grains at a low boil to hydrate them properly. That is all fine and good and it works but it is not necessary.

This is my favorite brand of birdseed, but just about any will work, look for ones with no or little cracked corn as it can really starch things up which can make the grains clump a lot more while cooking.

For me, grain prep is simple and easy. I just add WBS and water to the jars and pressure cook.

Quart jars:

400 ml WBS
200 ml tap water

Pint jars:

200 ml WBS
100 ml tap water

Step One:

Add the measured grain and water to the jars.

Step Two: