Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating herbs.

Old May 16, 2009   #1
piegirl
Tomatovillian™ Honoree

Default lemon verbena flowers

Every year I grow at least one lemon verbena in my herb garden because it is just so wonderful smelling. I bought mine two weeks ago and noticed today it has flowers forming - still in the 3 x 3 pot! How unusual is this? The plant is maybe 6-8 inches tall. piegirl
piegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2009   #2
veggie babe
Tomatovillian™

mine are doing the same thing. This is my first year to grow it so I have no clue what to expect.

neva
veggie babe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 17, 2009   #3
Polar_Lace
Tomatovillian™

lemon verbena

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia:
Lemon verbena

Phytochemicals: Lemon Verbena, Aloysia tiphylla

~* Robin
Old May 18, 2009   #4
habitat_gardener
Tomatovillian™

My lemon verbena has not come back yet and looks dead. I had it in a large container for a year or two, then in the ground for a couple years, so it survived at least 3-4 winters. I've seen small lemon verbena trees in this area, but my garden site gets cold winds, and it was not mulched as deeply as in previous years. Sigh.

A couple years ago, I offered a sprig of lemon verbena to someone who was walking through the community garden. She said she had small children and had to get out of the house for a little while. When she smelled the lemon verbena, she said it revived her.

I'd planted it where I'd brush against it frequently. I already miss it, but I have a few other lemony plants: lemon balm, lemon thyme, and lemongrass, as well as a meyer lemon.
habitat_gardener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 9, 2009   #5
habitat_gardener
Tomatovillian™