Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating eggplants/aubergines.

Old June 24, 2008   #1
huntoften
Tomatovillian™

Default What can I expect?

This is my first year growing eggplant. I have a half dozen plants I started from seed. They are all in big, black pots and doing very well. I had a little problem with flea beetles, but some pyola nipped that in the bud quickly. I'm getting some flowers now...amazingly beautiful!

How tall will these plants get? I can't remember what kind they are...the regular purple hybrids from the Gurney's catalogue I think. Do they have male and female flowers like the curcurbits? Are they open pollinated, self pollinated, or do they need a pollinator (plenty of bees thanks to not using any pesticides so far this year). Also, how long until I should start seeing fruit big enough to eat? Can you pick them when they are small or is it best to let them get full sized and glossy before harvest?

Thanks for the help...looking forward to growing some of those other varieties next year!
Old June 25, 2008   #2
piegirl
Tomatovillian™ Honoree

Hunt - depends on the variety, but generally mine grow about 3 1/2 to 4 ft tall and they kinda branch out. I believe they are self pollinating not like cukes (someone correct me if I am wrong) they should begin setting any day now - I have loads of flowers also. If it is Dusky or similar, they should be ready at about 1 lb to 2 lb - shiny and black. Pciked smaller, they might be bitter.

PaulF says you will attend the Midwest Tomato Fest -we do have a great time and the best food so I look forward to meeting you. How close to setting/ripening are the toms? Mine have a modest set but varieties have flowers or at least buds. If I am really, really lucky, Togorific will have a ripe one by the 4th. They are ony .50 size so it is possible.
Piegirl
piegirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 25, 2008   #3
huntoften
Tomatovillian™