Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating peppers.

Old April 19, 2018   #1
Jetstar
Tomatovillian™

Default Giant Marconi... Yea or Nay?

I'm gonna be planting some Cubanelle in a few weeks a friend has offered me some Giant Marconi never heard of them yeah I'm new to pepper varieties. Decent pepper? Opinions?
Jetstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19, 2018   #2
ako1974
Tomatovillian™

Great pepper. I have to admit, I didn't get huge production the few times I planted them, but they are nice, large stuffers.
Old April 19, 2018   #3
ddsack
Tomatovillian™

Yes! I grow them every year. Big size with thick walls. The Giant Marconi F1 is not the same as Red Marconi.

ddsack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19, 2018   #4
Jetstar
Tomatovillian™

Anything special I should know in planting them or in plant care when their growing that differs from sweet bell peppers?
Old April 19, 2018   #5
mikemansker
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jetstar View Post
Anything special I should know in planting them or in plant care when their growing that differs from sweet bell peppers?
Same care as other sweet peppers.
mikemansker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19, 2018   #6
dustdevil
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jetstar View Post
I'm gonna be planting some Cubanelle in a few weeks a friend has offered me some Giant Marconi never heard of them yeah I'm new to pepper varieties. Decent pepper? Opinions?
Planting in a few weeks might be a bit too early for NE WI. Check your weather Zone-wise and temp wise on the National Weather Service records for your location.
dustdevil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19, 2018   #7
Jetstar
Tomatovillian™

I never plant any peppers until the last week of May typically 1st week of June they don't like cold... At All!
Old April 30, 2018   #8
b54red
Tomatovillian™