Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old March 1, 2018   #1
Crouch
Tomatovillian™

Default Indoor-then-outdoor containers for earlier tomatoes?

I’m new to the tomato game but like many others, would like ripe tomatoes before nature otherwise would normally allow.

I’m wondering if doing my final transplant into Tomato Success Kits 2-3 weeks before the last frost date and keeping the kits indoors in a high sun area for those 2-3 weeks would let the root systems, etc. get a jump start. I then could move the entire kits outside (without needing to re-transplant) after the last frost date passes.

Would doing so move up the time for ripening, or will all those efforts go for naught due to outside temperatures prohibiting flower set or some other limiting factor kicking in?

I’m in central NJ. The last three years, I’ve transplanted outside in very early May but have not had any ripe tomatoes until the last week of July using Cherokee Purple, Black Krim, Brandywine, and Ramapo F1.

I realize I can use earlier varieties but I’d prefer to use the mainstays like the above, esp. if there’s a workaround such as the indoor/outdoor concept. This year, I’ll be planting Sungold (which will come in sooner) but also Amazon Chocolate and Ramapo.
Crouch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1, 2018   #2
rhines81
Tomatovillian™

Why not. Some of those varieties get pretty big, but my guess is you could start most types and grow them indoors without bringing them out at all as long as they get plenty of sun and the temperature remains above 55-60F. A small fan will help with pollination when they have flowers.
rhines81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1, 2018   #3
Goodloe
Tomatovillian™

@ Crouch...
Hmmm...that's an interesting approach. Seems like it oughta work. Please keep us updated. Good luck!

Jon
Goodloe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 1, 2018   #4
bower
Tomatovillian™