Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old July 15, 2014   #1
LindyAdele
Tomatovillian™

Default Making Larger Tomatoes

I have been growing tomatoes in earnest for 4 years now (heirlooms from seed). I have 16 plants, seeds started march 1st which are now 6-7 feet tall each. On most plants, I have 1-2 dozen fruit and at least that many flowers out (more fruit than I can count on the cherries, they are just loaded!). Since I live in Ontario, I've been happy with this, and expect to have ripe fruit by the end of July. Some of my cherries might be ripe by the end of the week.

Here is my problem - my plants have grown taller and produced more fruit than in any year past (I have been building new raised beds, working on my soil and watering schedules, etc.) but each individual fruit is MUCH smaller. For instance, my Black Krim plant has 20 or so green tomatoes that are just a little larger than a ping-pong ball. They have been that size for two weeks or more. The last three years of growing them they were big, ribbed, dark and delicious, but I got much fewer fruit per plant. My other larger tomatoes are all small as well (Ruby's German Green, Marianna's Peace, Amana Orange, White Tomesol, Zapotec, etc. ).

Is there a trick to getting larger tomatoes? Is it the cooler wetter weather we've had this year? Should I reduce the number of tomatoes per cluster so that some of them get to grow larger?
LindyAdele is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 15, 2014   #2
Cole_Robbie
Tomatovillian™

How do you fertilize? I'm using a seed company recommendation of alternating calcium nitrate and 4-18-38 through a fertilizer injector into a drip system. Occasionally I will do a watering with other fertilizers that contain iron and magnesium. I also did a lot of soil amendment with the manure from my family's grass-fed cows.