Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old July 2, 2014   #1
lakelady
Tomatovillian™

Default lot of megablooms this year, anyone else?

Every year is a new surprise with the weather conditions and I find it interesting to observe the weather trends, and what the effects on my tomato plants are. This year I noticed many plants have megablooms, many more than previously. It has been very very dry the past couple of weeks and while warm, not the usual intolerable heat and humidity of NJ this time of year (well not till 2 days ago that is lol). No septoria for a change, yay! Just wondering if this is the effect of the weather ? Anyone else notice this?
Old July 2, 2014   #2
linzelu100
Tomatovillian™

Yes I have! I have been growing tomatoes for a few years and have never had a megabloom. I always read about them on online forums and thought hmmmm? what are they talking about? My weather is usually very wet and humid.

Now this year...almost everyone of initial blossoms were megablooms! My husband was asking me why they are like that. I know there is a reason, but I don't know what it is. I find it strange too.

It has been very hot and dry here- which is good, because no mold/blight yet! But yea these megablooms grow some really huge, strange tomatoes with a lot of cracking and exposed seed portions. When they look exposed I rip them off the plant.
Old July 2, 2014   #3
b54red
Tomatovillian™