Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old March 24, 2006   #1
sandman619
Tomatovillian™

Default Kosovo growth habit question

Hey All,

This is my first year growing Kosovo, and was wondering something about its growth habit.

I know from reading and research that it has wispy, willowy-like foliage and vines, but how wispy does it get?

My plant is about a foot or so, has been planted out for roughly 3 weeks. It is displaying the commonly described wispy growth, but there are a couple of lower branches that appear almost twisty.

I thought it may have been the victim of a curly top infected leafhopper bite, but its not following the descriptions of curly top. One reason why I was thinking curly top is because I had a couple other plants (Black Cherry and only Black Cherry) displaying branches pointing upwards, a trait sometimes associated with the disease.

The leaves themselves arent curly, just the branches (soon to be vines) are twisty and almost have a couple of zig-zags. Neither the leaves nor branches are brittle or crispy or anything and they will twist back with relative ease by hand but twist back after being released.

The plant is not stunted at all and the top 2/3 of the plant appears to be healthy and growing, and has a couple of blossom sets forming.

Also the other plants that I have that were displaying upwards pointing branches seem to have grown out of it, so I dont know what to think there.

So is twisty-ness a trait of its wispy-ness? Ill try to get a pic taken of it sometime soon, need to get an accessory for the new phone to upload pics!
sandman619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 25, 2006   #2
moucheur
Tomatovillian™

I grew Kosovo last year. Mine was limp and wispy but not curly as you describe. It was fairly tall, vigorous, and productive. Large, delicious pink hearts, some single and some double.