Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Information and discussion regarding garden diseases, insects and other unwelcome critters.

Old June 22, 2014   #1
wildcat62
Tomatovillian™

Default Early blight prevention with copper fungicide

I'm new to the use of copper fungicide. So this may be a stupid question. It looks like this stuff prevents the blight but will it kill/suppress it if it is already present. I recently noticed what I believe to be early blight & after discussion with the local coop I pulled all foliage that appeared to be diseased & anything that came close to contacting the ground. Sprayed the copper from top to bottom heavily. We got another rain about 24 hours after the application. I go out this morning and looks like a few more leaves are affected. I realize I'll have to spray again today after the sun goes down as it's sunny hot/humid already this morning. Will the copper kill the spores are will it only prevent new foliage from succumbing? What a battle.... I'm not giving up.... The plants do have a heavy fruit set & I can't wait to bite into them. Any advice would be greatly appreciated???
wildcat62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22, 2014   #2
Dewayne mater
Tomatovillian™

There is a study out there (posted by someone in Tville) saying that a mix of Copper and Mancozeb is significantly more effective as a fungicide than Copper alone. It has a thick, somewhat sticky consistency that dries out leaving you tomatoes covered in a yucky film. However, it washes off easily in water and from what I can tell, using the two combined is a good tool. That said, this is a rather scary story about one of the ingredients in mancozeb that I just found. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12558996 Good luck.

Dewayne Mater
Dewayne mater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 22, 2014   #3
carolyn137
Moderator Emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by wildcat62 View Post