Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old June 26, 2013   #1
efaunt86
Tomatovillian™

Default Will this soil work?

I am completely new to gardening, much less container gardening. I dumped a bunch of garden soil in pots and, lo and behold, it didn't drain and set like concrete. So I tried mixing my own for some different pots I went with a 5:3:3 ratio of peat/top soil/manure compost. It seems to drain pretty well. I have tomatoes in 10 gallon pots with no gravel or anything on the bottom. When my other veggies, the ones in the concrete dirt, sprout big enough I'm going to remove them and mix in peat maybe vermiculite because I'd be really disappointed if I put in this much work only to have the plants die because my lack of knowledge of container needs.

Last edited by efaunt86; June 27, 2013 at 12:59 AM.
efaunt86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27, 2013   #2
Ed of Somis
Tomatovillian™

Default soil

E...I have studied this subject of container mixes for awhile...and am confident about these facts: Never use native soil in a pot/container. Never put rocks, gravel, or glass on the bottom to help drainage. You raise the level of mucky bottom even higher in the pot. (see my other posts about this). Fine particles in a soil mix (ie. clay or native dirt, fine dust or wood, etc) can never be improved by adding things like perlite, vermiculite, fir bark, granite, etc. The comparison is best answered by this question: how many bb's does it take to improve the drainability of a cup of pudding? You get the idea. A fast draining potting mix is very important. At minimum...a commercial bag of good potting mix will do. Cactus mixes in general drain better than most others. goodluck
Ed of Somis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 27, 2013   #3
tlintx
Tomatovillian™