Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating all other edible garden plants.

Old November 28, 2009   #1
Ruth_10
Tomatovillian™

Default Still eating fresh out of the garden?

Seems like the winter garden doldrums are full upon us.

Who is still eating fresh out of the garden? What are you harvesting?

Temps got down to around 27F here the other night, but we're still eating Brussels Sprouts, broccoli, carrots, and lettuce. There are a couple of volunteer bok choi out there, too.

This is my first time growing fall lettuce and it's been a treat.

Some say the glass half-full. Others say the glass is half-empty. To an engineer, it’s twice as big as it needs to be.
Ruth_10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28, 2009   #2
habitat_gardener
Tomatovillian™

I picked a big bunch of parsley and another bunch of perennial kale earlier in the week, and I still have a few carrots in the ground. I found 1 strawberry and about 3-4 raspberries the birds didn't get.

The yacon leaves are getting burned by the cool night temperatures (in the 30s), but they're over 6 ft. high and in bloom. When I dig them up in a month or two, I'm expecting to get lots of big sweet tubers.

A few volunteer potato plants got pretty big in the past month, so I mulched them with lots of straw. The next time I go to the garden, I'll have to see if they've produced anything. Usually we get a freeze around the first week of December that turns any remaining tomato plants black, but this year, not much is left.
habitat_gardener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 28, 2009   #3
cdbva
Tomatovillian™

We haven't had a frost yet. I still have lots of beautiful mustard greens, although I'm not sure what to do with them. I put them in a lasagna -- half spinach, half mustard -- and it was very good. I put a few small, new leaves in salads. I don't know what else to do with it. But it sure is pretty.