Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old August 4, 2009   #1
huntsman
Tomatovillian™

Default Why plant in raised beds?

Why are so many people planting in raised beds? What is the advantage, pls?
huntsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4, 2009   #2
cottonpicker
Tomatovillian™

A few reasons I've been planting in raised beds for over 20 years:

Since I never walk on the raised beds, the growing & root zone isn't compacted, better drainage..dries out quicker in early springtime, concentrates amendments fertilizers & water where it's needed and not on the pathways.
Old August 4, 2009   #3
TZ-OH6
Tomatovillian™

Raised beds are good if you do not have good soil of your own, if you have poor drainage, and/or if you want to keep your back yard looking neat and tidy.
TZ-OH6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4, 2009   #4
feldon30
Tomatovillian™

Torrential Rain is why.

[I][SIZE="1"]*I'm not allowed to post weblinks so you'll have to copy-paste it manually.[/SIZE][/I]
feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4, 2009   #5
BigdaddyJ
Tomatovillian™

All the above reasons are great reasons! I'll add it's easier picking, soil warms faster, no tilling and easy to lasagna compost. I'll never grow vegetables any other way again.
Old August 4, 2009   #6
zopi
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by feldon30 View Post
Torrential Rain is why.
THIS! My early La Romas all stunted due to flooding this year...I am amazed though that they are still producing SCADS of tomatoes....albeit small ones.
zopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 4, 2009   #7
jhp
Tomatovillian™