Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Member discussion regarding the methods, varieties and merits of growing tomatoes.

Old April 19, 2014   #1
SharonRossy
Tomatovillian™

Default Italian Heirloom - a heart tomato?

Anyone grown this variety before? It's my first year with IH and i guess I expected it to be more robust but it's looking a bit like an oxheart. Just wondered.
Sharon
SharonRossy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19, 2014   #2
habitat_gardener
Tomatovillian™

I'm growing it this year, too! But haven't planted yet. Soon!

Tatiana's Tomatobase says beefsteak and oblate.
http://tatianastomatobase.com/wiki/Italian_Heirloom

Or are you asking about the wispiness of the foliage? (Too soon to tell on mine.)
habitat_gardener is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19, 2014   #3
SharonRossy
Tomatovillian™

Yes, because I was surprised at the wispiness of the leaves. I know Anna Russian looks really wispy but puts out good sized tomatoes, and IH is supposed to have big fruit. So I am just a bit surprised.
Old April 19, 2014   #4
Father'sDaughter
Tomatovillian™

I grew it last year, and yes, it was more of a beefsteak in shape. The plant was fairly productive and showed some disease resistance, but it just didn't have much in the way of flavor. Given that it won first place in the SSE tasting, I'm guessing it just didn't like my growing conditions. That being said, I haven't put it on the "Never to be Grown Again" list, as I will probably give it another try some day.
Father'sDaughter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19, 2014   #5
Doug9345
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by Father'sDaughter View Post
. . . I'm guessing it just didn't like my growing conditions. That being said, I haven't put it on the "Never to be Grown Again" list, as I will probably give it another try some day.
I only grew a couple of tomatoes last year, but it wasn't a fair test for any tomato because it never stopped raining last year.