Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating all other edible garden plants.

Old December 18, 2012   #1
b54red
Tomatovillian™

Default Fall veggies this year in the deep south

How's everyone's fall garden progressing so far this year?

This is looking to be a very good fall so far except for the squirrel damage. Got a good stand of carrots of course that is just where the squirrels decided was the perfect place to bury pecans and acorns. Cabbage is already heading and so is the broccoli. As a matter of fact I have a couple of Bonanza broccoli ready to cut. I tried something I've never done before and that was start rutabagas in my greenhouse and set them out individually. Wow has that worked great. I have never had them this big this early in the year before nor have I ever been able to get them spaced right when just sowing the seed directly. Got a bit of a late start on my Brussel sprouts this year and so they only went in about 10 days ago so they may not have time to make depending on how early the warm weather gets here. Spinach and lettuce were also a bit late because of the late fall we have had but the temps are just right for it now and it is starting to really grow. I am still getting tomatoes off my remaining vines but as soon as they show the first sign of blushing I pick them and put them in the greenhouse to continue ripening. Left on the vine with the cool nights they just don't want to completely ripen. Bell peppers are still making but not as well as a few weeks ago when they were really pumping them out. I need to get my hoops ready and the plastic tacked to the sides of the beds so it will be ready to cover up when the freezing weather gets here. We had one night get down to 27 and it killed a few of my tomato and pepper plants and killed off most of my fall beans but everything else went unscathed. It is supposed to get down to about 30 this week and I think I'll just let everything stay uncovered