Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

Discussion forum for environmentally-friendly alternatives to replace synthetic chemicals and fertilizers.

Old June 10, 2016   #1
BigVanVader
Tomatovillian™

Default Concerns about Copper Fungicide

http://www.regional.org.au/au/asssi/...vanzwieten.htm

This article made me rethink my use of copper. I have a very healthy worm population because I have been feeding the soil for almost 2 years now. I hauled in over 3k pounds of manure last winter, and do so every fall so I certainly dont want to poison my soil with heavy metals and defeat the purpose of doing all that work. Everything I do is based around soil building since that is really the cornerstone of a healthy garden, and since there are several alternatives that work as/more effectively I will no longer use copper fungicide. Not worth the risk for me. To each their own though.
BigVanVader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 10, 2016   #2
PaulF
Tomatovillian™

A good study indicating that the overuse of any chemical can be harmful. We use fungicides only when necessary and then follow label directions. There are other fungicides rather than copper that work, but used sparingly will not cause the problems incurred as indicated in the study in Australia which was in a commercial orchard setting. Always good to be cautious. Thanks for the reminder.
Old June 10, 2016   #3
BigVanVader
Tomatovillian™

Yeah, I hate to even post these sometimes but I personally had no idea copper was a heavy metal that persist in the soi, or that it can create a toxic environment for worms. I doubt I use it enough to cause those issues, but I'm not willing to risk it either.
Old February 6, 2018   #4
hl2601
Tomatovillian™

A Newbie question...what would you use instead especially if you wanted to stay organic?
hl2601 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 6, 2018   #5
Labradors2
Tomatovillian™