Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating beans, peas, peanuts, clover and vetch.

Old June 28, 2007   #1
geraniumgirl
Tomatovillian™

Default green beans

My rattlesnake pole beans produced copious amounts of beans for about three weeks,then stopped. Is this theend of the season for them? The vines are lush and beautiful. The weather did turn very hot briefly. I notice flowers again. Will I get lots of green beans, or do I take the vines out
geraniumgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29, 2007   #2
jhp
Tomatovillian™

If it were me, and I saw flowers, I'd leave them. Won't be long before you find out for sure.

I am by no means an expert in beans.
jhp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29, 2007   #3
feldon30
Tomatovillian™

For bush beans (determinate):

You'll get one big crop, and then a dwindling smaller crop. If you want to have a continuous crop, you need to do staggered planting every 2-3 weeks. Hotter temperatures have resulted in tougher, fewer beans at least in my garden.

For pole beans (indeterminate):

You'll get a couple of large crops and a continuing crop over the rest of the season.

[I][SIZE="1"]*I'm not allowed to post weblinks so you'll have to copy-paste it manually.[/SIZE][/I]

Last edited by feldon30; June 30, 2007 at 11:17 PM.
feldon30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29, 2007   #4
geraniumgirl
Tomatovillian™

thanks. not a single book i looked at told me how long the vines would produce beans! i'll leave them for a while longer until they stop producing,then plant something else---maybe i should stick to tomatoes!
geraniumgirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 29, 2007   #5
shelleybean
Tomatovillian™

Rattlesnake is a pole variety and should produce all season if kept picked. Like cucumbers and some other veggies, if you get behind on picking, they stop producing. The flowers are a good sign. You'll get some more beans.