Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General discussion regarding the techniques and methods used to successfully grow tomato plants in containers.

Old May 27, 2015   #1
schill93
Tomatovillian™

Default Top Dressing for Top Watering Containers

As I am new to all of this, please forgive my ignorance. I am familiar with how to set up SIP watering containers as the Earthbox, Earthtainer, etc., where you spread (or some like to incorporate it directly through the mix) your dolomite about 3/4 up from the container and then add some more mix then lay your two cups of granular fertilizer in a strip towards the top and cover it with more mix.

However, on non-sip containers where you will be watering from the top via automatic irrigation drip, could you spread a cup of granular fertilizer over the top, then cover it with a little more mix with worm castings mixed in and put the mulch back on top?

Obviously I am talking about containers all ready made up with mature plants in them. Would that 1 cup of fertilizer be too much going down each time the drip (with a 4" wide spray) comes on? Drip spray comes on twice a day for 5 minutes. I am in the hot dry desert. Container are from 5 to 15 gallons each and water flows through quickly and out the bottom.

I am trying to get a feeling how this release of granular fertilizer placed on top compares to pouring a wet solution of your mixed fertilizer on each week.

I would think that a more constant, as opposed to a one time splurge each week would be better. However, I have no idea how much would seep down at each watering. It may be too much. Can you shed some light on this for me?

Last edited by schill93; May 27, 2015 at 05:38 PM.
schill93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2015   #2
AKmark
Tomatovillian™