Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

General information and discussion about cultivating onions, garlic, shallots and leeks.

Old July 7, 2012   #1
RayR
Tomatovillian™

Default Garlic ID?

This is my first time growing garlic and I just harvested this morning. I bought the this hard neck garlic last October at a local nursery but it was only labeled "Locally Grown Garlic". Got some big one's from my small garlic patch, these were some of the biggest at 2.5"-3" across. Can any garlic experts out there identify the variety from the picture? Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Garlic.jpg (255.3 KB, 48 views)
RayR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7, 2012   #2
babice
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by RayR View Post
This is my first time growing garlic and I just harvested this morning. I bought the this hard neck garlic last October at a local nursery but it was only labeled "Locally Grown Garlic". Got some big one's from my small garlic patch, these were some of the biggest at 2.5"-3" across. Can any garlic experts out there identify the variety from the picture? Thanks.
RayR - looks like mine. How long did the stems get? I'm sure an expert will be able to ID right from the photo of the bulb. I was just wondering because I have "Extra Select". The stems got about 2 feet tall.

Last edited by babice; July 7, 2012 at 04:39 PM.
babice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 7, 2012   #3
RayR
Tomatovillian™

They grew 2ft. tall. Isn't Extra Select a softneck? Mine are hardneck.
Old July 7, 2012   #4
FILMNET
Tomatovillian™

Ray Russian Giant which i just picked out today look these, the Russian hard necks have the red color like 1 of yours, this is my first year with garlic German white were small, Russian Red were average and were a little red, and Russian Giant were huge with a little red here they are Russian Red to left and Russian Giant to right
you are to let them dry up leave the dirt on them also
Attached Images