Tomatoville® Gardening Forums

Notices

New to growing your own tomatoes? This is the forum to learn the successful techniques used by seasoned tomato growers. Questions are welcome, too.

Old March 12, 2017   #1
TorontoJoe
Tomatovillian™

Default When to start seeds?

I've been a member for a few months but it's been too cold Here in Toronto to have much to say about my Tomatoes. I have perhaps 15 varieties, the seeds for most were passed down to me from my father. (They're very important to me to say the least) I've been growing some great tomatoes for several years now and have had some real success.

I've always started my seeds on a window sill in the house however, last fall I decided to buy a little temporary greenhouse for this purpose.

My question is - How long before last frost would you all generally recommend starting my tomato seeds?

I have space to start maybe 300 plants. I'll be heating it and managing it using a temp controller...So would also like to know the ideal temp to keep the greenhouse if anyone knows...(I'm betting someone here does)

Our last frost date of record is May 9th but the last 15 years this has been creeping up so I need to start considering this.

All advice much appreciated....

Toronto - Zone 6

Growing: Tomatoes, Cucuzzi, Figs, Peppers, Lemon, Olive

Seeking: Worlds most delicious tomato
TorontoJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12, 2017   #2
rhines81
Tomatovillian™

Quote:
Originally Posted by TorontoJoe View Post
I've been a member for a few months but it's been too cold Here in Toronto to have much to say about my Tomatoes. I have perhaps 15 varieties, the seeds for most were passed down to me from my father. (They're very important to me to say the least) I've been growing some great tomatoes for several years now and have had some real success.

I've always started my seeds on a window sill in the house however, last fall I decided to buy a little temporary greenhouse for this purpose.